Filter by:

Find an ECA Registered Member

Advanced search

The FSA Awards

The FSA awards showcase the best work and contribution to the Fire & Security industries. 

The awards are split into: The Peter Greenwood Security Award and the Ian March Fire Award.

Please note that this award is open to everyone from the industry, so don't hesitate to apply!

The FSA Awards

Peter Greenwood Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Security Systems Industry

The Peter Greenwood Award recognises individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the security systems industry.

About the Award

The Peter Greenwood Award is the longest established individual award in the security profession and has been in existence since Peter’s untimely death in January 1995. Peter was a former Head of the Electrical Contractors’ Association Security Group and was involved with its Fire Group. He was also a founder member of the Security Industry Lead Body (SILB).

After Peter passed away, Una Riley took over as Chairman of the implementation group and felt it appropriate to create an annual award to be offered to an individual who demonstrated the same kind of enthusiasm and selfless concern for the industry which Peter himself unerringly demonstrated. It was people like Peter who helped shape the industry to become the profession that it is today.

Why enter?

'It was surreal, on the night, to sit with 800 other people and to hear my work described in such a flattering manner. The atmosphere was electric and it was clear that everyone had a great time. 

Since receiving the award, I have been able to promote my work and its positive impact on the industry to the rest of my team and also on a wider scale, via social media. When recommending us as a reputable alarm company, clients make specific reference to my award. 

The awards are a fantastic demonstration of how the industry has grown to include so many different areas and it's fantastic to see so many enthusiastic young people now involved.'

Andy Gilmore, 2016 Peter Greenwood Security Award winner

Past Winners


Andy Gilmore, AAI Security 


Ltd Simon Banks,CSL Dualcom


Geoff Tate, SSAIB


Raymond Clarke, Security & Facilities Educations (SAFE) Ltd


Mike Cahalane

The Ian Marsh Fire Award recognises individuals who demonstrate enthusiasm and selfless concern for the fire and emergency systems industry.

This award was renamed in honour of Ian Marsh in 2013.

About the award

Ian Marsh joined the ECA in 1998, initially as a Technical Assessor and then as Technical Manager. A Fellow of the IET, he was widely regarded for helping to improve standards across the building engineering services sector.

Ian approached his work, his colleagues and the industry with boundless enthusiasm. His technical knowledge was renowned, as was his appreciation for the realities contractors face. He actively sought to identify practical solutions to contractors’ problems and was able to convey the importance of standards compliance in everyday language to ensure the message got through.

It is because of his contribution, that members of the FSA Standing Committee, supported by his former ECA and ELECSA colleagues, felt it appropriate to create an annual award to be offered to an individual who demonstrates the same kind of enthusiasm and selfless concern for the industry which Ian himself unerringly demonstrated.

Past Winners


Chris Watts, Wavelength Associates


Geoff Teader, Amalgamated Ltd


Jonathan O'Neil, Abel Alarm Company Ltd


Steven Adams, BAFE


Pat Allen, Abel Alarm Company Ltd

Why enter?

'It was great to receive the award and to see that the team's work on emergency lighting was being recognised.

There is a need for further developments in emergency lighting to match the changing requirements of today's market. The award that we received pays tribute to our efforts in this field and shows just how important this work is to the industry as a whole. 

The awards ceremony itself was very impressive; the overall sense of good humour from the entertainment and host turned the occasion into a most memorable one.'

Chris Watts, 2016 Ian Marsh Fire Award Winner

FSA Awards Nomination Form

 Security code